Promoting Excellence in Public Education


The ASBA recognizes excellent first-year teachers, long serving trustees, outstanding school boards and citizens who contribute to public education in Alberta. For more information contact: Teresa Ergezinger, Administrative Assistant, Corporate Services at 1.780.451.7129.

Indigenous Shining Student Award

Do you know a Grade 10 to 12 student of First Nations, Métis or Inuit heritage who is pursuing their goal despite challenges? Nominate them for the 2016 Indigenous Shining Student Award. For more information contact Brian Callaghan, Education Consultant,  780.451.7105

Nomination form (PDF-303K)

Closing Date: March 30, 2016

Edwin Parr Teacher Award

Each year the ASBA honors six outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA.

Nomination form (PDF-154K)

Closing Date: March 18, 2016

Friends of Education Award

The Friends of Education Award recognizes individuals or organizations who are demonstrably committed to improving education for Alberta students and who have made a significant contribution to education in Alberta.

Nomination form (PDF-49K)

Closing Date: September 23, 2016

Honourary Life Membership Award

The ASBA Board of Directors may present an Honourary Life Membership to an Alberta trustee who has provided distinguished service to trusteeship and/or the work of the association.

Nomination form (PDF-63K)

Closing Date: September 23, 2016

Long Service Awards

The Long Service Awards Program recognizes significant contribution to trusteeship. Any trustee serving a minimum of two terms is eligible to receive a long service award.

Nomination form (PDF-61K)

Closing Date: September 23, 2016

Premier’s Award for School Board Excellence and Innovation

With sponsorship from Xerox Canada, the ASBA presents the Premier’s award in recognition of a school board’s unique contributions to improving students’ learning experiences. A key criteria for this award is that the nominated project must have been developed, influenced and actively supported by the school board.

Nomination form (PDF-48K)

Closing Date: September 23, 2016

Public Engagement Award

The ASBA presents this award to a school board that has engaged its community during the previous school year.

Nomination form (PDF-62K)

Closing Date: September 23, 2016

Zone Appreciation Award

The Zone Appreciation Award is open to trustees, superintendents (all levels) and secretary-treasurers who have displayed exemplary service to trusteeship at the Zone.

Nomination form (PDF-55K)

Closing Date: June 17, 2016