Excellence in education through exceptional school board governance

Board of Directors

The ASBA Board of Directors directs the ASBA.  Current meeting agendas and minutes are posted at the bottom of this page.

Governance policies June 2017 (PDF–377K)

Mary Martin


Mary Martin was first elected as a trustee in 2007. She served as chair of the Calgary Catholic School District Board of Education from 2011-2014. She previously served on the ASBA Board of Directors from 2010-2011. Mary holds a Bachelor of Nursing degree and works as an RN. She is married to Rob and is the mother of four grown sons. Mary considers serving as a trustee to be a great privilege.

Darcy Eddleston


Tammy Henkel

Zone 1 Director

Trina Boymook

Zone 2/3 Director

Jennifer Tuininga

Zone 2/3 Director

Jennifer Tuininga is the Board Chair of Pembina Hills Public Schools and is in her first term as a school trustee. She and her family are table egg producers and grain farmers in the Neerlandia area. Jennifer and her husband Russel have two school aged children. In seeking the nomination of trusteeship Jennifer wanted to provide better communication between the school board and her local school community. She continues to advocate for strong board policy to ensure an excellent education for students, and looks for creative ways for the board to communicate with division staff and school communities. With degrees in Social Sciences and Recreation Jennifer is also actively involved in her local community, in roles that involve planning, budgeting, and leadership.

Cathy Peacocke

Zone 4 Director

In her third term as a trustee with Red Deer Public Schools, Cathy Peacocke is vice-chair of that board. Cathy ran for school board after serving as chair of five school councils. She worked for the Alberta School Councils’ Association as a facilitator, building stronger councils across the province. Cathy has a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in mathematics from Dalhousie University. Cathy is on the boards of the United Way of Central Alberta and the Lifelong Learning Council of Red Deer.

Marsha Tkach

Zone 5 Director

Bradley Toone

Zone 6 Director

Cathie Williams

Calgary Catholic Schools

Trina Hurdman

Calgary Board of Education

Michael Janz

Edmonton Public Schools

Debbie Engel

Edmonton Catholic Schools


Michael Ouellette

Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association

Sylvianne Maisonneuve

Fédération des conseils scolaires francophones de l'Alberta

Gerry Steinke

Public School Boards' Association of Alberta

2017 Agendas and minutes

June 15

Minutes (PDF-168K)

May 11-12

Agenda (PDF-156K)

Minutes (PDF-177K)

March 10

Agenda (PDF-148K)

Minutes (PDF-177K)

February 9-10

Minutes (PDF-255K)