Excellence in education through exceptional school board governance

About zones

The Alberta School Boards Association is organized into five Zones, representing different geographic regions of the province. View the Zone map here. (PDF–1.2MB) Each school board is a member of one of the Zones. While each board designates a trustee as their representative to Zone, all trustees are welcome to attend meetings. Information sharing, networking and professional development top the agenda at Zone meetings. The Zones are also a key internal communication link for the association. A representative of the ASBA Board of Directors attends every Zone meeting. This promotes two-way communication between the ASBA leadership and school boards. The Importance of Zones explains the role of Zones within the association.


Zone chairs

Joyce Dvornek

Chair, Zone 1

Colleen Holowaychuk

Chair, Zone 2/3

Connie Huelsman

Chair, Zone 4