12 Alberta students recognized with Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal educational paths were awarded today at the Alberta School Boards Association’s second annual award ceremony

 May 11, 2019, Edmonton, AB — Hosted by the Honourable Lois E. Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), presented the second annual Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards at Government House today, with the Honourable Adriana LaGrange, Minister of Education, and the Honourable Rick Wilson, Minister of Indigenous Relations in attendance.

These awards offer the opportunity to celebrate exceptional students nominated by members of their education communities, based on their exemplary leadership, courage, and commitment to their cultures and educational paths. They inspire their peers, teachers, education leaders, and community members while respecting the agency of other students to do the same in their own ways.

“On behalf of the ASBA Board of Directors, I am so thankful to be part of the celebration of these inspiring young students. I am in awe of the dedicated time and effort put in by each and every student who was nominated. The unique and truly special stories from the 12 recipients—and all nominees—from across Alberta serve as a powerful reminder to be involved in our communities and always strive to show courage and leadership.”

Lorrie Jess, President, ASBA

“These amazing young people are proudly celebrating their cultures and sharing the best of who they are. Through their great energy, strength, determination and understanding, they are lighting a path for fellow students to follow and reminding us all of the power we each hold to inspire and encourage those around us.”

Her Honour, the Honourable Lois E. Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta

The Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards are presented annually to First Nations, Métis, or Inuit student nominees who attend a school in Alberta, either operated by an ASBA member school board or a First Nations Education Authority.

Award recipients 2019

  • Taytum Quinney, Frog Lake, Alberta
  • Noah Golosky, Fort McMurray, Alberta
  • Cera Goodin, Siksika, Alberta
  • Lyla Potts, St. Albert, Alberta
  • Mason Griffiths, Athabasca, Alberta
  • Isabella Coderre, Calgary, Alberta
  • Marcus McDonald, Spruce Grove, Alberta
  • Drayden Laviolette, Lac la Biche, Alberta
  • Morning Song Stewart-Rabbit, Calgary, Alberta
  • Rowyn Mustus, Glenevis, Alberta
  • Harlee Young, Calgary, Alberta
  • Samuel Metacat-Yah, Fort McMurray, Alberta


The Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) serves Alberta’s 61 locally-elected public, separate, and francophone school boards. For more information visit,

Media inquiries:

Katy Campbell

Director of Communications, ASBA