News release

12 exceptional Indigenous students honoured with award by Alberta School Boards Association  


April 15, 2024, Edmonton, AB —Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) celebrated the outstanding achievements of 12 First Nations, Métis and Inuit students at ASBA’s 2024 Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Award ceremony, held on April 15 at the Queen Elizabeth II Building. Selected from 230 nominees, these students exemplify remarkable leadership, courage and dedication to their cultures and educational journeys. 

The ceremony featured inspiring remarks from: 

  • The Honourable Salma Lakhani, AOE B.Sc., LLD (Hon), Lieutenant Governor of Alberta 
  • The Honourable Demetrios Nicolaides, PhD, ECA, Minister of Education 
  • The Honourable Rick Wilson, Minister of Indigenous Relations 
  • Marilyn Dennis, President, Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) 
  • Elder Charlie Fox and Elder Theresa Strawberry, ASBA’s Indigenous Advisory Council Members 
  • Christy Elliott, Senior Vice President, Sustainability, External Affairs & General Counsel, Keyera 
  • Bryce Delorme, 2023 award recipient 
  • Recipients of the 2024 award 


The 12 recipients from kindergarten to Grade 12 across Alberta were nominated by members of their educational communities for their exceptional contributions. Please view the backgrounder for the complete list of award recipients, including information about their nominations. 

“This award is a testament to the remarkable resilience, strength and determination of Indigenous students across Alberta. Each recipient has not only excelled academically but has also demonstrated exceptional leadership, courage, and dedication, inspiring us all. We are honored to recognize their accomplishments and support their continued educational journeys as they pave the way for future generations.” 

-Marilyn Dennis, President, ASBA 

Recipient recognition 

Each award recipient was presented with: 

  • An award certificate and congratulatory letter;  
  • A unique hand-crafted Star Blanket; 
  • A one-time scholarship, sponsored by Keyera. 

Keyera, a proud sponsor of the 2022-2026 awards, provided a $2,500 scholarship to each recipient to acknowledge their achievements and support their educational journeys.  

“We are inspired by the 2024 Honouring Spirit Award recipients’ passion, strength and leadership. Our team at Keyera is proud to celebrate alongside them as we recognize their invaluable contributions to their communities. We hope the Keyera scholarship supports them in continuing their educational journeys and encourages them to pursue their dreams.” 

-Christy Elliott, Senior Vice President, Sustainability, External Affairs & General Counsel, Keyera

The award was also sponsored this year by Alberta Education.  


ASBA provides special thanks to its Indigenous Advisory Council members for their invaluable contributions in the selection process.  

Additionally, ASBA acknowledges the support of the Selection Committee representatives from the Alberta School Councils’ Association, the College of Alberta School Superintendents, the Alberta Teachers’ Association and Keyera. 

For more information about the award, visit: 

Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) serves Alberta’s 61 locally-elected public, catholic and francophone school boards. For more information visit: 

About Keyera: (TSX:KEY) As one of Canada’s largest independent midstream businesses, Keyera plays a crucial role in processing, transporting, storing, and marketing clean-burning natural gas and natural gas liquids that fuel society. With a dedicated team of over 1,100 employees, we’re committed to making positive, lasting change in the areas we live and operate. For more information visit:   

Media contact (ASBA):
Katy Campbell
Director of Communications and Zone Engagement, ASBA

Media contact (Keyera): 


Event photography