Background: 2020 Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

The Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards are intended to recognize First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal education paths and embrace their own gifts, strengths and potential while celebrating the ways of their people.

November 27, 2020, Edmonton, AB


These awards provide the opportunity to celebrate the unique qualities of students who inspire their peers, teachers, education leaders and community members while respecting the agency of other students to do the same in their own ways.

Award Parameters
Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards are presented annually to students selected by the Awards Committee. The Committee considers First Nations, Métis or Inuit student nominees who attend a school in Alberta, either operated by an ASBA member school board or a First Nations school, who have been nominated by members of their education community based on their exemplary leadership,  honour, courage and commitment to their own education path. Selection of award recipients is made by the Awards Committee, comprised of the ASBA Indigenous Advisory Circle members and one member from each partner organization: College of Alberta School Superintendents (CASS), Alberta School Councils’ Association (ASCA) and Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA).

Nominees are First Nations, Métis or Inuit students enrolled in, and regularly attending, a school that is operated by an ASBA member school board or First Nations Education Authority.

Awards Categories
There are three regions throughout the province (North, Central and South), with four awards in each region (one in each of the following grade groupings for a total of 12 awards):

  • K-3
  • Grade 4-6
  • Grade 7-9
  • Grade 10-12


Award Sponsors

This year’s awards were sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) and CN, and cohosted by the Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Alberta Education, in collaboration with CASS, ASCA and the ATA.