News release

Nine students receive inaugural Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Student Award from Alberta School Boards Association


September, 25, 2023 Edmonton, AB —Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) inaugural Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Student Award ceremony was held today at Government House to celebrate nine student recipients from across Alberta.

Created in collaboration with the Lieutenant Governor’s office, this award recognizes students who demonstrate determination, initiative and independence that leads to their improved success both academically and personally.

The ceremony included remarks from the Honourable Salma Lakhani, AOE B.Sc., LLD (Hon), Lieutenant Governor of Alberta; the Honourable Demetrios Nicolaides, PhD, ECA, Minister of Education; and, Marilyn Dennis, ASBA President.

“I am delighted to recognize nine outstanding students who have, through their determination, initiative and resilience, found improved success both academically and personally. Their hard work encourages us all to give our best to whatever challenges we face, and to enjoy every opportunity to learn new things so that we may learn and grow.”

Honourable Salma Lakhani, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta

“It is an honour to celebrate the first recipients of this award and recognize the positive impact that these young individuals have shown for their peers and society as a whole. These nine remarkable recipients demonstrate exceptional leadership, success, commitment and community spirit, serving as an inspiration to us all.”

Marilyn Dennis, President, Alberta School Boards Association

Award details

The award is divided into three regions (north, central and south) and three grades within each (Grade 6, Grade 9 and Grade 11); nine recipients in total receive the award. This year, each recipient was recognized with a medal, certificate, congratulatory letter from ASBA’s President and an honorarium from SB LLP.

2023 Recipients 

Grade 6

  • Bryn Giberson, north, Athabasca
  • Ty Balkwill, central, Sturgeon County
  • Savannah Craine, south, Calgary

Grade 9

  • Corbin Williams, north, Cold Lake
  • Aiden Chen, central, Edmonton
  • Henok Mesfin, south, Calgary


Grade 11

  • Vada Sunshine, north, Valleyview
  • Daniella Figliuzzi, central, Sherwood Park
  • Dominique Malenfant-Clavel, south, Exshaw


For more information on the award, visit:

Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) serves Alberta’s 61 locally-elected public, catholic and francophone school boards. 

Media inquiries:
Katy Campbell
Director of Communications, ASBA
780.451.7137 |