News release

School board trustees gather virtually for Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) Fall General Meeting

Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) member trustees gathered virtually to conduct Association Business and recognize remarkable individuals who contribute to public education in Alberta.

November 18, 2020, Edmonton, AB —School board trustees representing Alberta’s 61 locally-elected public, separate and francophone school boards attended Alberta School Boards Association’s (ASBA) first virtual Fall General Meeting (FGM) from November 16-17, 2020.

The two-day event included the Business Session as well as the Awards and Professional Development Program. The Honourable Adriana LaGrange, Minister of Education, was in attendance to bring opening remarks to member trustees.

During the Business Session, members voted on and passed resolutions related to:

  • Hold harmless and enrolment counting
  • Program Unit Funding
  • Language learning
  • Good faith immunity legislation
  • Diploma exams


The Awards and Professional Development Program included recognition of excellent first-year teachers, long serving trustees, outstanding school boards and citizens who have contributed significantly to public education in Alberta.

“We had the privilege of honouring outstanding trustees, teachers, community members and educational leaders who dedicate relentless energy to ensure Alberta’s students continue to receive a world-class education. I was so grateful to have shared in this experience with all award nominees and recipients.”

                -Lorrie Jess, President, ASBA

The awards given out this year include the Edwin Parr Teacher Award; President’s Award; Friends of Education Award; Long Service Award; Public Engagement Award; and, School Board Innovation and Excellence Award. For a list of this year’s award recipients, click here.


Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) serves Alberta’s 61 locally-elected public, catholic and francophone school boards. 


Media inquiries:
Katy Campbell
Director of Communications, ASBA