The 2022 Award nomination forms will be available by the end of January.

ASBA recognizes excellent first-year teachers, long serving trustees, outstanding school boards and citizens who contribute to public education in Alberta. For more information contact Heather Mosher at

Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

These awards recognize First Nations, Métis and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their personal education path and embrace their own gifts, strengths and potential while celebrating the ways of their people.

Deadline: EN:  February 1, 2022 / 1, février, 2022

Click here for English nomination form / Cliquez ici pour le formulaire de nomination en Français

Edwin Parr Teacher Award

Each year the ASBA honours six outstanding first-year teachers with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA.

Deadline: March 18, 2022

Friends of Education Award

The Friends of Education Award recognizes individuals or organizations who are demonstrably committed to improving education for Alberta students and who have made a significant contribution to education in Alberta.

Deadline: March 18, 2022

Zone Appreciation Award

The Zone Appreciation Award is open to trustees, superintendents (all levels) and secretary-treasurers who have displayed exemplary service to trusteeship at the Zone level.

Deadline: June 10, 2022

Community Engagement Award (previously called Public Engagement Award)

The ASBA presents this award to a school board that has engaged its community during the previous school year.

Deadline: September 16, 2022

Honourary Life Member Award

The ASBA Board of Directors may present an Honourary Life Membership to an Alberta trustee who has provided distinguished service to trusteeship and/or the work of the association.

Deadline: September 16, 2022

School Board Innovation and Excellence Award

With sponsorship from Xerox Canada, the ASBA presents the School Board Innovation and Excellence Award in recognition of a school board’s unique contributions to improving students’ learning experiences. A key criteria for this award is that the nominated project must have been developed, influenced and actively supported by the school board.

Deadline: September 16, 2022